OtherThanMother

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Other Than Mother~The Launch

It seems official now.  The press has contacted me several times about my press release and an announcement will be made in the local paper about the movie screening as well as the Other Than Mother initiative.  The editor, a woman, seemed interested in where the money for the tickets would be going.  As I had to purchase the movie and will be providing refreshments I believe $5 to be a nominal fee.  I definitely am not doing this for profit!  I do hope that I will reap the benefits of discussing personal growth of mothers in a different manner, with a wealth of ideas for the book I’ve been working on.

The book was started nearly a year ago and came to a stand still in November when I wrote a novel.  I’ve found it difficult to piece together what I’m trying to say in the book.  I want it to be a quick, informative read about what makes it difficult for women with children to fulfill their own needs, how often we search for meaning at the girls night out at the bar(which I have no objection to if you need a fun night out) or a massage or just time away from our children.  Making the assumption though, that for most women this doesn’t fulfill them in anyway, just provides a break, is somewhat arrogant I suppose but I do trust that women have larger roles to fulful beyond mother.  Maybe larger isn’t the correct phrase either.  What I’m thinking is that we have something else to offer that leads us away from the martyr trap of motherhood into the well-rounded woman who happens to be a wonderful, fantastic mother and role model to her children.

As part of the initiative I am also hoping to give something to the fathers.  A chance to be all they can be as caretakers as well.  I believe men have a lot more to give as nurturers than they have ever been given credit for.  I think the opportunity to have the time to prove themselves able is imperative to the health of the entire family and of benefit to the mother.

I’m also hoping that when women return home after the movie, they will have found a way to not be upset at their husbands if the house is not as clean and tidy as when they left it or if the house is tidier, not to feel inadequate.  Remember we all have our own strengths and weaknesses to deal with and allowing our partners, male or female to be flawed is very important to personal growth.

I am very much looking forward to the event and hope to sell some more tickets.  So far I’ve only had one iquiry.  My posters aren’t up yet so maybe that will help.  I go tomorrow to 9 places around town to post.  And the papers come out on Wednesday and Thursday with my notices in them.  I’ll keep you posted!

 

Breeze

May 26, 2009 Posted by | Uncategorized | Leave a comment